## Commission on Equal Opportunity and Diversity Resolution 2020-21A Resolution to Modify Membership to Commission on Equal Opportunity and Diversity (CEOD)

Approved by Commission on Equal Opportunity and Diversity:	February 23, 2021
Faculty Senate waived right to comment:	December 12, 2020
Staff Senate comments:	December 18, 2020
Graduate Student Assembly waived right to comment:	January 5, 2021
Student Government Association waived right to comment:	January 5, 2021
First Reading by University Council:	March 15, 2021
Approved by University Council:	April 5, 2021
Approved by the President:	April 5, 2021
Effective:	Upon Approval

WHEREAS, University Council resolution CEOD 2017-18A updated membership to include representation of diverse employee constituencies by faculty/staff caucuses at Virginia Tech, and

WHEREAS, the Commission on Equal Opportunity and Diversity seeks representation from populations that are underrepresented and/or underserved and historically marginalized, and

WHEREAS, oversight of the Cultural Community Centers has moved from the Division of Student Affairs to the Office of Inclusion and Diversity;

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the membership of the Commission on Equal Opportunity be revised in Section III-B of the Bylaws of the University Council, as noted below, effective August 13, 2021, and the proposal forwarded to the President for approval.

# **Article III. University Commissions**

University Commissions are established according to the Constitution of the University Council to carry out certain functions and operations of governance. Membership of each Commission is as listed in the following sections.

# B. Commission on Equal Opportunity and Diversity

Membership\*:

Ex Officio

- Vice President for Strategic Affairs and Diversity
- Assistant Vice President for Equity and Accessibility
- Vice President for Human Resources
- Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs
- Senior Director, Cultural and Community Centers
- Associate Vice Provost for Inclusion and Diversity
- Director, Cranwell International Center
- Dean of Students
- Director of ADA and Access Services

Organizations and Caucuses

- One academic dean selected by the Council of College Deans (two-year term)
- One representative elected by the Faculty Senate, who must be a senator (three-year term)
- One representative elected by the Staff Senate, who must be a senator (three-year term)
- One representative of the administrative/professional faculty elected by the Commission on Administrative and Professional Faculty Affairs (three-year term)
- Ten Faculty or Staff Caucus representatives (three-year terms)

A Faculty/Staff Caucus shall demonstrate its representational nature for membership on CEOD through verification of the following criteria:

- At least one member serving in President, Vice President, Chair, or Vice Chair roles and must be faculty or staff. Graduate students who are employees may serve on the leadership team.
- A written mission related to the advancement of equity, diversity, and inclusion.
- An advocacy focus for its own population as well as intersectional identities.
- Representative of an identity group that has been historically underrepresented, marginalized, and disenfranchised.
- Committed to upholding the Principles of Community.
- Maintains organizational documents and policies that include:
  - By-Laws and/or Constitution
  - Elected officers
  - Regular meetings and minutes
  - Definition of voting membership/quorum
  - $\circ$   $\;$  Annual reports of accomplishments and goals for the upcoming year  $\;$

Changes to caucuses specified below per CEOD Resolution 2015-16B shall be approved by University Council.

Black Caucus Black Faculty/Staff Caucus LGBT Caucus LGBTQ+ Caucus Hispanic/Latino Faculty/Staff Caucus Appalachian Caucus American Indian and Indigenous People's Caucus Women's Alliance and Caucus Disability Caucus International Caucus Veteran's Caucus Veteran's Caucus Asian and Asian American Caucus Asian Pacific Islander Desi American Caucus

- Three at-large members:
  - One faculty/staff representative (three-year term)
  - One graduate student representative (one-year term)
  - One undergraduate student representative (one-year term)

The at-large members will be chosen by an application process, open to faculty, staff, and students, and conducted by the commission annually for the available, undesignated slot. The application process is managed by the Office of Inclusion and Diversity. The commission will forward at least two nominations (so long as there are at least two) for each vacant position to the Secretary of University Council for the President's appointment decision. The commission may rank the candidates in order of preference. The at-large positions are designed to allow representation from groups not identified above as well as individuals who would make significant contributions to the work of the commission, regardless of background.

- One representative of the Student Government Association (one-year term)
- One representative of the Graduate Student Assembly elected by the Graduate Student Assembly (one-year term)

\*The chair will be elected from among the non-ex officio faculty or staff members of the commission



### 2020-2021 EXECUTIVE BOARD

**President: Tamarah Smith** Summer & Winter Sessions 540/231-7327; <u>tjsmith@vt.edu</u>

Vice President: Serena Young University Ombuds 540/231-9532; young7@vt.edu

Secretary/Treasurer: Angel Carter Enterprise Systems Management 540/231-7553; angelc5@vt.edu

Parliamentarian: LaTawnya Burleson Liberal Arts and Human Sciences latawnya@vt.edu

#### STANDING COMMITTEES

*Communications* Bruce Harper, Chair University Relations/Creative Studio 540/231-4360; <u>bharper@vt.edu</u>

*Elections and Nominations* **Tasia Persson, Co-Chair** Liberal Arts and Human Sciences 540/231-6779; <u>tpersson@vt.edu</u> **Judy Taylor, Co-Chair** Provost Office 540/231-9595; <u>taylor1@vt.edu</u>

James D. McComas Staff Leadership Seminar Jennifer Earley, Chair University Advancement 540/231-2991; jennife7@vt.edu

Policies and Issues LaTawnya Burleson, Chair Liberal Arts and Human Sciences latawnya@vt.edu

#### ADHOC COMMITTEES

*Child Care* Robert Sebek, Chair <u>rsebek@vt.edu</u>

Strategic Planning LaTawnya Burleson, Chair latawnya@vt.edu

# **Staff Senate**

http://www.staffsenate.vt.edu/

December 18, 2020

#### **To: Vice President of Policy and Governance**

The Staff Senate Committee on Policy and Issues has reviewed and approves CEOD Resolution 2020-2021A. We are in support this resolution.

Thank you, LaTawnya Burleson, Chair Staff Senate Policies and Issues Committee